Once Upon a Notion

Okay guys. It’s that time again. In mere hours a new episode of our favorite magical drama will air. Excited? I know I am. In the meantime, I’d like to introduce a new column I’m going to post each Sunday: Once Upon A Notion. Every week, you’ll be treated to a new theory I or one of my OUAT-watching friends have swirling through our minds.

This week’s theory comes from my friend and co-worker, Matt. And let me just say, it’s my favorite so far. The gist? Our world–the “real” world–is nothing but a byproduct of Regina’s Curse. Yeah. He went there. My dear friend Matt argues that Regina essentially created the modern world when she cast the dark curse. Up until now, I’ve just assumed these two worlds were completely separate.

That’s how the story’s been presented, to be sure. But this theory definitely has some merit. Snow’s coffin, the Huntsman’s wolf, Regina’s heart vault and the cabin in the woods–how do these exist in the “real world” exactly? Matt’s answer is that the world our favorite characters know now is nothing more than a smokescreen that only Regina can see through. And, in my opinion, Mr. Gold. You know I’m, right. Accept it.

The curse, rolling through each realm

So what does this mean for the rest of the world? As we’ve seen in the flashbacks, the realm is vast, filled with many large kingdoms. For all we know, Chicago and New York could be in on it too. Alice and the Mad Hatter could be sitting in a Starbucks on Madison Avenue right now, sipping herbal tea and discussing the latest episode of Glee.

According to Matt, the reason for all of our well-known favorites populating Storybrooke is because Regina wished to keep all of the major players in one place. The endgame then is not simply for Emma to return everybody home, but to return the world to its original, magical form. To quote Jorge Garcia in the Alcatraz pilot, “Is anyone else’s head exploding right now?”

Now for a little devil’s advocate. My only apprehension to this creation story is baby Emma’s escape from the Enchanted Forest. James placed her in the wardrobe before the curse hit the castle and, as the Queen’s guards found out, our future hero had already vanished. I voiced this concern to Mr. Matt and he was more than ready to defend his theory.

“She could have been transported to an area of the world that had already been affected by the Curse as it rolled through the kingdoms, arriving in the ‘modern’ world that was already changed.” Okay fair enough. It’s true that we did see the green-black smoke of the curse spread over the land before it reached the palace. And, to the best of my memory, Emma told Henry that she was abandoned on the side of the road; she never specified where.

So. Yeah, I don’t think we should rule out this particular theory. It has plenty of merit and Matt does not take his theory-making lightly. There is only one more question it raises: where does this leave Writer Guy? If the real world didn’t exist before Storybrooke, the only explanation to his very existence (that I can see, anyway) is that he is some omnipotent Creator figure.

Thoughts? I’m dying to hear what you guys think! Leave a few comments and I’ll see you all tonight at Granny’s for a cup of coffee and slice of any pie other than apple

2 Responses to “Once Upon a Notion”

  1. I for all time emailed this blog post page to all my associates, as
    if like to read it afterward my links will too.

  2. Hello! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could
    get a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m
    having problems finding one? Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

