Emmy-Nominated Weekend: The Comedies

As part of ABPW’s Emmy-Nominated Weekend, let’s chat about the comedy nominations for this year’s Emmy awards. For half a second, I thought I should start with the dramas, but then I realized that I should start where my passions lie: with the comedies, of course. In this post, I’ll break down the categories with my opinions, and do the same for dramas soon. As always, sound off in the comments–what do you think?

For our working list of Emmy nominations, check out our Starters post for this series.

OUTSTANDING COMEDY
The Big Bang Theory
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Girls
Modern Family
30 Rock
Veep

At least Two and a Half Men didn’t get nominated this year, am I right? I’ve used more words in the last few years to express my irritation with The Big Bang Theory’s constant nominations than I care to admit, so let’s just leave it at that I’m still irritated that it’s get nominated over much better shows.

It’s good to see Curb Your Enthusiasm back, as well as Modern Family and 30 Rock. Happy to see Veep break in as a newcomer to the race, and I predict it’ll stay around for a while. I really thought Girls was a drama, not a comedy, but I guess in HBO terms it’s a comedy (it’s certainly no Mad Men).

And, lastly, I’m glad to see The Office no longer crowned king. Its funny days on top are done, and I’m glad to see new blood in the game in exchange. I still think Parks and Recreation, Community, Happy Endings and Cougar Town were unjustly robbed, considering they all had their best seasons yet, but they’ve been winning big in other awards, so I’ll let it go.

Dream winner: Veep. Probable winner: Modern Family or Girls.

OUTSTANDING ACTRESS IN A COMEDY
Zooey Deschanel, New Girl
Lena Dunham, Girls
Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie
Tina Fey, 30 Rock
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Veep
Melissa McCarthy, Mike & Molly
Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation

I’m pretty sure I did a cartoon double-take when I looked at this list. Seven nominees? I mean, why the heck not, right? Lots of veteran faces here in Edie Falco, Tina Fey, Melissa McCarthy and Amy Poehler, and three new (for these shows) in Zooey Deschanel, Lena Dunham and Julia Louis-Dreyfus. Can’t say I’m disappointed in this list–I do love my comedy ladies. I really don’t have too much to say here, other than that I might cry if Amy Poehler doesn’t take it home this year. If we get a repeat of last year’s Ladies On Stage performance, I’ll be happy. They all deserve to be up there (maybe Lena Dunham not as much, but she’ll probably win, so whatever).

Dream winner: Amy Poehler. Probable winner:Lena Dunham.

OUTSTANDING ACTOR IN A COMEDY
Alec Baldwin, 30 Rock
Don Cheadle, House of Lies
Louis C.K., Louie
Jon Cryer, Two and a Half Men
Larry David, Curb Your Enthusiasm
Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory

Again, a pretty predictable list, because the Emmys hate Nick Offerman. Though this is Jon Cryer’s big break into the Lead race, I remain unconvinced. Alec Baldwin, Larry David, and Jim Parsons are the veterans here, with Louis C.K. returning and Don Cheadle here for the first time for the surprisingly fantastic House of Lies. Though Louie has been nominated before, it hasn’t won, so it would be great to see that come through.

Dream winner: Louis C.K.. Probable winner: Alec Baldwin.

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A COMEDY
Ed O’Neill, Modern Family
Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Modern Family
Ty Burrell, Modern Family
Eric Stonestreet, Modern Family
Max Greenfield, New Girl
Bill Hader, Saturday Night Live

Ah, well, speaking of predictability, it’s back to the Modern Family race in Supporting Actor. Modern Family is a great show, yes, but I think it’s a little over the top that all four men are nominated for an Emmy. I mean, it’s not that funny. Max Greenfield, on the other hand, is the shining star of my heart on one of my new favorite comedies, and that man has worked so hard to make it in television. Then again, we have Bill Hader jumping into the race (I may or may not have thrown both arms up in the air in excitement), and there’s no question that he’s also incredibly deserving. I’m not saying I want them to win because I want Modern Family to not win, but I’m also…not saying that. But that point aside, both Greenfield and Hader deserve it so, so much.

Dream winner: Max Greenfield, Bill Hader. Probable winner: Modern Family–it may be Ed O’Neill’s year.

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A COMEDY
Mayim Bialik, The Big Bang Theory
Kathryn Joosten, Desperate Housewives
Julie Bowen, Modern Family
Sofia Vergara, Modern Family
Merritt Wever, Nurse Jackie
Kristen Wiig, Saturday Night Live

Though it’s nice to see that this category wasn’t destroyed by the cable channels, it’s still questionable nominations. Of course Julie Bowen and Sofia Vergara made it in, because they’re great, and I was thrilled to see Kristen Wiig snag another nomination (which she should win, because she carried this entire season of SNL and it was her last). Not sure Desperate Housewives deserves the nom over other shows, and I’m not going to spend more words on TBBT. I don’t watch Nurse Jackie, but the Internet at large seems to think Merritt Wever should win this year.

Dream winner: Kristen Wiig. Probable winner: Merritt Wever.

OUTSTANDING GUEST ACTOR IN A COMEDY
Michael J. Fox, Curb Your Enthusiasm
Greg Kinnear, Modern Family
Bobby Cannavale, Nurse Jackie
Jimmy Fallon, Saturday Night Live
Will Arnett, 30 Rock
Jon Hamm, 30 Rock

I love the Guest categories because they’re always a toss-up. There are so many deserving actors and actresses, but the ones who rise to the top are usually the cream of the crop. I’m a little surprised to see 30 Rock snag two noms this year, but it’s a good surprise, since their live episode this year was absolutely stellar. Greg Kinnear, my longtime older man crush, was brilliant on Modern Family and I’d love to see him take it home. And Jimmy Fallon on SNL is always a good time. Really, I wouldn’t be unhappy to see any of these fellas take the Emmy, since they all did an outstanding job this year. Congrats on your faces, men.

Dream winner: Jon Hamm. Probable winner: Jon Hamm.

OUTSTANDING GUEST ACTRESS IN A COMEDY
Dot-Marie Jones, Glee
Maya Rudolph, Saturday Night Live
Melissa McCarthy, Saturday Night Live
Elizabeth Banks, 30 Rock
Margaret Cho, 30 Rock
Kathy Bates, Two and a Half Men

Lastly, the Guest ladies, which is making me gnash my teeth that I have to choose. As upset as I was that Dot-Marie Jones was relegated to Guest on Glee this year, she really brought her A game to the show. 30 Rock pushed out two more fantastic guest spots in Elizabeth Banks and Margaret Cho, both of whom always deliver an amazing performance on the show. Kathy Bates is great, but since I refuse to watch Two and a Half Men, I can’t really speak to her performance there.

But really, asking me to choose between the Maya Rudolph and Melissa McCarthy episodes of SNL? Talk about the hardest decision of my life, you know? Hold on, I’m going to go watch the Super Showcase skit one more time, because yes.

Dream winner: Maya Rudolph. Probable winner: Melissa McCarthy.

So there we are, all of the major comedy nomination categories. Do you agree? Who are your dream winners? If you have snub ideas, hold onto them, because that post is coming up on ABPW’s Emmy Nominated Weekend.

About Bailey

I'm a writer and a feminist. I read a lot of books and I watch a lot of television.

2 Responses to “Emmy-Nominated Weekend: The Comedies”

  1. I totally agree about Parks! I can’t believe it got left out this year, but I’m working on a post right now about Emmy snubs, so don’t worry–the appropriate outrage is coming. Double back to share more feelings about that tomorrow, please!

  2. I’m very upset with the lack of Ron Swanson nominations. Other than that, from what I’ve seen, most of the picks seem spot on or at least who SHOULD win. I think maybe Parks & Rec should have gotten a nomination for what I thought was a great 4th season.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

